Track & Field



Track results

The Rattler track season ended with a 6th place finish at the state championships. That came on the heels of a great day at the district championships where the Rattlers gave defending 1A State Champions Jacksonville Lighthouse a great run and the Lady Rattlers pushed State Champions Quitman for most of the day. Individual highlights included Aubrie Davis medaling in the pole vault and turning in the 3rd fastest hurdle time at state. The 4x800m relay team of Lauren Ryan, Marley Littleton, Kia Yang, and Michal-Ann Dobson placed 4th at state and Lauren Ryan took 4th in the 3200m run. Caleb Hyatt placed 10th in the discus while Davis, Racheal Phillips, and Hannah Smith all scored in pole vault "vaulting" the Rattlers into first place for the time being. They remained in first or second for much of the day. Reagon Pickartz continued the scoring with 7th in discus. Smith also scored in triple jump. Finally, the 4x400m relay team of Davis, Littleton, Taryn Leslie, and Hannah Green took 4th place.


Magazine has a storied tradition of success built upon the hard work, determination, desire, and dedication of its athletes. State championships, state records, and collegiate athletes are found within this story.  From Emmitt Cleveland in the 30s to Brittney Bryan in 2014; from Billy Wallace in the 80s to Roy Carey in the early 2000s; from Jeremy Wortham in the 90s to Katy Carter in 2012; this is a great story of the journey of some very special athletes.    Emmitt Cleveland set the state record in pole vault with 11'8" in 1938; the record stood for 18 years.  Roy Carey tied the indoor state all-time best with a 6.52 55m dash at Fayetteville's All-Comer Meet in 2003 finishing 4th overall with all stars from all surrounding states including a win over future Olympic medalist Wallace Spearmon. Carey is one of three Magazine athletes named to the All Arkansas Track and Field Team - Roy Carey, Courtney Bryan, and Brittney Bryan.  Brittney Bryan was Class 2A State MVP.


The teams have been ultimately successful having won 2 State Championships, 2 State Runners-ups, six 3rd place finishes at state, 34 District Championships, and Invitational meets at Greenwood, Booneville, Paris, Clarksville, Danville, Dardanelle, Waldron, and Magazine to name a few. The 2009 Jr. Girls went undefeated winning every meet that season.  


Track and Field Team consistency since 1996:
2-Time State Champions 2012, 2014
2-time State Runner-up 2010, 2011
6-time 3rd place at State: 1999, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2009, 2012
3-time 4th place at State: 2000, 2004, 2011 (9-time semifinalists)
7-time top 8 at State: 1997, 1998, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2013, 2017 (7-time quarterfinalists)
20 total top 8 STATE finishes in past 22 years. (Finished 9th in 2015, 10th in 2016). Rattler Pride!



We begin with the field events.


Magazine has a long and storied tradition in Track and Field.


Rattler track and field has been around for close to 100 years. The last two decades have been very successful including 2 State

Championships, 2 state runners-up, and 6 third place state finishes plus 34 conference titles. In the last few years the Rattlers have produced

multiple collegiate athletes: Brittney Bryan (UCA), Katy Carter (UAFS), Shelby Gordon (UCA), Travis Williams (UAFS), Churxa Yang (UAFS),

Allan Fairbanks (UCA), Keith Runyan (CBC), and Roy Carey (Coffeyville/Kansas)


The first recorded State Champion was Emmitt Cleveland who accomplished the feat 3 times in the late 30s and early 40s. (Pole vault)

Jeremy Wortham was the first modern-day State Champion in 1993 (High Jump).

Courtney Bryan was the first female athlete winning the state championship in 2011. (Discus)


Rattler Track and Field and Cross Country have won a combined 49 Conference Championships

(34 T&F/15 CC); 2 STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS; 2 State Runners-up, 59 State Champions, and

112 All State awards since 1993. 

A History and Tradition of Excellence in Rattler Track and Field


Track & Field Album

Ozio Gallery made with ❤ by